Being part of a society is like being a part of community!

Watch this thread
hallamstudents
Badges: 18
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 years ago

Being part of a society is like being a part of community

by Chandni Soren

Attachment 732852

What is the society that you are in?
I am a member of the Salsa Society, it is a friendly and laid back atmosphere where you learn how to dance and meet lots of new people. We usually start with a warm up, learning some steps taught by an instructor. We then partner up and form a circle around the room, rotating partners every few moves so that everyone gets to know and dance with each other. I have been doing Salsa since September 2016 so around a year and a half; I am on the committee this year in the role of Equality and Diversity Officer.

We have regular socials, meeting up for pizza, cocktails and dancing. We attend Spanish clubs like Revolution De Cuba, Bloo88 and Cubanas in Sheffield where you can attend a salsa lesson or join in social dancing. It is a great atmosphere where lots of strangers come together to dance and have fun.

We also organise regular trips, such as to Blackpool and Liverpool to do optional Salsa workshops or competitions with other universities or organisations. Every year we also have the opportunity to go abroad, I have always wanted to go to Spain because I speak Spanish and we went on a trip to Madrid last year. It opened my eyes up to really different type of night life, the world Salsa dancing. This year we are going to Barcelona in April.

Attachment 732860732862732800

What made you join the Salsa Society?