The Student Room Group

Do I have a chance at getting into med school?

From the age of about 13 and up I’ve suffered with an undiagnosed medical condition which gave me neurological difficulties (very bad brain fog, lost the ability to read and write), the led to me being unable to attend school for most of secondary school.
However 3 months before GCSEs (march 2017) I began to regain my ability to study! I self studied for 7 GCSEs and got one 8, one 7, one 6, one A and four Bs. My school was unable to offer me the chance to do double or triple science, I did core.
I couldn’t get into any sixth forms to study the subjects I wanted to with these grades, so I am now self studying for chemistry, biology and physics A levels (Predicted A*A*A).
I am also study for an IGCSE triple science, to take this summer.
I play piano, guitar, violin and saxophone. I am also learning French, Spanish and Latin.
I am going to be taking the UKCAT this summer also.
I have lots of good work experience!
I was just wondering if anybody had any advice on what schools would be best to apply to? Or if I would be acceptable as I will have done my GCSEs in different years? Or just any advice would be so greatly appreciated!
Thanks
Original post by Seanna_petrov
From the age of about 13 and up I’ve suffered with an undiagnosed medical condition which gave me neurological difficulties (very bad brain fog, lost the ability to read and write), the led to me being unable to attend school for most of secondary school.
However 3 months before GCSEs (march 2017) I began to regain my ability to study! I self studied for 7 GCSEs and got one 8, one 7, one 6, one A and four Bs. My school was unable to offer me the chance to do double or triple science, I did core.
I couldn’t get into any sixth forms to study the subjects I wanted to with these grades, so I am now self studying for chemistry, biology and physics A levels (Predicted A*A*A).