Law grad looking for new career prospects Watch

mnk.x
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi, i'm hoping to gain a bit of advice as i'm hitting a bit of a breaking point and need some guidance as to my options and routes on the following;

1) potential career prospects.
2) where to look for grad jobs/how to get started.
3) leave my part time job for another temporary full time occupation (until i find a job that I want to pursue).
I'd really appreciate advice on any 3 matters or on all!

My current situation is that I graduated from a red brick uni last yr with a 2:2 in a law.
I decided to take a gap year as I was unsure what career I wanted to pursue, I'm currently working part time in retail. This was supposed to be temporary but I've been there for 5 months now.

I don't want to pursue a direct career in law such as the solicitor route as I feel my 2:2 has limited me massively and I have no work exp/extra curricular and lack the drive needed to be a legal professional.
I would be interested in doing something linked/related to the legal field or that incorporates legal aspects.. but not sure what roles are out there?

I'm open to new career fields, but need inspiration or a push in the right direction. I think an office based job may suit me, maybe something consultancy related? or involving clients.
In the long term I want a career with progression, where I can work my way up, but i think i'm more focused on trying something new first and getting my foot in the door, as i'm still young (21).

I don't know where to get started with my job search, I've only really used Milkround so would really appreciate any suggestions of websites!
I've also heard signing up to agencies are beneficial, so any recommendations?
I'm worried as its March now and many graduate job deadlines have ended, but I really want to be in a new job by September so i'm on a time limit.