The Student Room Group

Queries about withdrawal/interruption from university.

Hello,

I am an undergraduate student and this is my first year, I study in England, London - University of Greenwich. I decided to withdraw from studies due to personal problems or at least to interrupt for some period of time.

So, my questions are if I withdraw what are the consequences with the payment so far. I have asked at university for that and they told me that if I consider to leave it will be better to do it before 9th April because it will only cost 50% of 9,250£ (therefore 4,625£). And there is what I was wondering...

Query 1:
If I withdraw what is the procedure for the payment? Far as I know it is the same like if I graduate all of my education... I mean I will be able to repay it only if I have a job and I have enough earning (an exact %), right? Because I will not be able to repay it at once.

Query 2:
The second thing that I was wondering about is - if I interrupt my studies for a year for example just to make up my mind because I am really not able to continue right now... What are the procedure with the payment then? Will I be extra charged?

Query 3:
If I Interrupt and after a year I change my mind and decide not to continue will this be a problem if I withdraw then? Will I have restrictions/penalties for the loan? Or it does not change anything?

Query 4:
How to inform you to stop my financial support? Who do I need to contact and how? Because I need to do it as soon as possible before 9th of April.

I have spoken yet with university and my personal tutor and I have access to the documents for withdrawal/interruption but they told me that I have to get in touch with you separately to let you know that you have to stop my financial support.

Thanks in advance!

Kind Regards,
Milen Dimitrov
Original post by MilenDimitrov
Hello,