The Student Room Group

My Journey to Be the Top One Percent

This is my second shot at making a GYG, my first attempt being an utter failure since I'm a complete rookie at this and my not bothering to update it after the first post. Buut here goes!

I'm an extremely driven, quiet, bookish and passionate human being who also loves studying. If extremely intense, focused and vigorous GYG threads aren't your cup of tea, then feel free to exit.

The title of the thread comes from the mantra that I've repeated so often that I reckon it's been permanently seared into my brain: to be the top one percent, you have to be willing to do what the other ninety-nine percent aren't.

I feel like that mantra perfectly encapsulates what type of learner/student I am - I am always going above and beyond the syllabus, reading and researching further, constantly finding ways to improve myself and finding new revision and learning techniques. I really love learning and studying just adds a competitive incentive for me - I'm a fiercely focussed and driven person and dare I say it, a little competitive. I've always directed all my energy into achieving my goals, maximising my potential and achieving the highest results. I eventually want to graduate as dux.

Maybe you're wondering why I may or may not have an intense mentality. I attend mercilessly competitive school for gifted and talented students in Sydney, Australia. I really like The Student Room since it has more resources and forums than anything remotely comparable in tiny ol' Australia. I hope my being from Australia won't hinder my thread in any way - revising is such a universal thing that I don't think it will matter.

I've just spat out this whole spiel about achievement and studying but I'm a fraud. I'm really just an ordinary teen (I'd like to think at least) and this is the part where I convince you all that I'm totally well-adjusted and balanced (whatever that is!). Just kidding. Or am I?