Government Legal Service - career change

Watch
iheartdjokovic
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,

I graduated in summer 2017 with a 2:1 in Law from Oxford and started a grad scheme at one of the big banks in September 2017.

I've recently started feeling that banking isn't really what I want to do, and have been really missing law (never thought that would happen!). I initially discounted going into law as a career on the grounds that every interaction I had with the big "magic circle" firms really put me off (including some work experience) due to the culture and the nature of the work.

However I've recently discovered the GLS training contract, and think it could be perfect for me - I loved administrative/ constitutional and EU law at uni and have always been interested in politics. My questions are:
1) do I have a decent chance of getting a place on the GLS scheme, or will they discount me as too indecisive/ not showing enough commitment?
2) what are the arrangements for living costs - I understand that the LPC course fees would be paid for should I get a place on the scheme, but is the grant sufficient to rent somewhere in London/ be able to eat?

Thanks so much for any advice x
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by iheartdjokovic)
Hi,

I graduated in summer 2017 with a 2:1 in Law from Oxford and started a grad scheme at one of the big banks in September 2017.

I've recently started feeling that banking isn't really what I want to do, and have been really missing law (never thought that would happen!). I initially discounted going into law as a career on the grounds that every interaction I had with the big "magic circle" firms really put me off (including some work experience) due to the culture and the nature of the work.