The Student Room Group

Computer Science degree course - Student loan eligibility for graduates

Hello,

Is it possible to get a tuition fee loan if I already have a degree, for this course: Computer Science (Top Up) at the University of Hertfordshire?

Normally, under the Equivalent or Lower Qualifications (ELQs) policy, only students without degrees can get a tuition fee loan. But some STEM, part time courses are exempt from this requirement. Does this exemption apply to this Computer Science top up degree? If so, would I still get the loan if I studied the course full time?

Full course details here:
https://www.herts.ac.uk/courses/bsc-hons-computer-science-top-up-online

Many thanks,

Chris Deakin
Original post by cbdeakin

Hello,

Is it possible to get a tuition fee loan if I already have a degree, for this course: Computer Science (Top Up) at the University of Hertfordshire?

Normally, under the Equivalent or Lower Qualifications (ELQs) policy, only students without degrees can get a tuition fee loan. But some STEM, part time courses are exempt from this requirement. Does this exemption apply to this Computer Science top up degree? If so, would I still get the loan if I studied the course full time?

Full course details here:
https://www.herts.ac.uk/courses/bsc-hons-computer-science-top-up-online

Many thanks,

Chris Deakin

Hi Chris,An Top Up course allows you to top up a previous completed course to a higher level such as a full BA or BSc. If I can just ask you a couple of questions.Are you looking to undertake a one year Top Up course on a full-time basis?What is the level of degree qualification that you already hold?Thanks Rona
Reply 2
Hello Rona,

I have an undergraduate degree (hons). I could study the course full time or part time. Would the loan only be available when studying part time?

Thanks,
Chris
Hello Rona,