Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Medicine 4 offers- Should I withdraw and reapply watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm sure there will be people who read this thread and think I am bonkers but...
    I am a A-Level student who applied for medicine this year with deferred entry for 2019, I received offers from all 4 of my choices.
    When I was applying I wasn't confident in my ability to get any offers at all so instead of choosing the universities I wanted to go to most, I picked the ones I thought I had the best chance of getting an offer from.
    Having received 4 offers I am now wondering whether I could actually get an offer from Imperial, Queen Marys, Cardiff or Cambridge (my favourite 4)?
    Would it be completely foolish to withdraw and reapply October?
    For context
    - GCSEs 7A* 2A and 1 distinction* BTEC
    - AS 2A
    - A2 predicted 3A*
    - UKCAT 720 SJT Band 1
    - BMAT didn't sit it this cycle

ReputationRep:
    So you essentially applied strategically (I'm assuming you weren't sill enough to actually just look at the league table and only pick from the bottom ones), and got offers. You did what I wish a lot more of applicants would do.

You have 4 offers and none of them are appealing enough that you actually want to go through the process again and risk getting 4 rejections? Just remember that league tables are essentially irrelevant for medicine.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Volibear)
    So you essentially applied strategically (I'm assuming you weren't sill enough to actually just look at the league table and only pick from the bottom ones), and got offers. You did what I wish a lot more of applicants would do.

You have 4 offers and none of them are appealing enough that you actually want to go through the process again and risk getting 4 rejections? Just remember that league tables are essentially irrelevant for medicine.