pollyannaaxx
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi there,
I am currently studying Primary teaching and am on the first year of the course. However, I am swapping to do English for the upcoming year. The Head of English at my university is fine with me starting in the second year, but I am not sure what to expect? I have done English language and English Literature at A-level, but I'm not sure whether not doing the first year at degree level will be a mistake? How hard is the degree and what are the essays like in terms of style that is different to A level? Thanks in advance to anyone that can help!
pollyannaaxx
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
bump
username3456172
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I would imagine that if they are allowing you to change, they are not expecting you to have any issues.

Literature tends to not get harder past A-level, the content just gets more dense and technical - you cover a similar volume of A-level content in a few months. The essays will be more detailed.

Once again, if they are allowing you to do it they must not see any issue.
Herts PG Student Repsdafaf
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by pollyannaaxx)
Hi there,
I am currently studying Primary teaching and am on the first year of the course. However, I am swapping to do English for the upcoming year. The Head of English at my university is fine with me starting in the second year, but I am not sure what to expect? I have done English language and English Literature at A-level, but I'm not sure whether not doing the first year at degree level will be a mistake? How hard is the degree and what are the essays like in terms of style that is different to A level? Thanks in advance to anyone that can help!
Hi pollyannaaxx