Aleshadavis2611
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
So I’m failing English language (grade 3) I need a grade 4 for sixth form. Grade boundaries are going up around 90 marks for a grade 4. I can’t sit and mope around so can anyone give me tips for English language revision? (I watched all of Mr Bruffs) do you think doing past exam questions frequently will help me get used to it also for Q5 how do people think of good/interesting stories on the spot? Like what if it’s a really bland picture and you can’t think of ANYTHING. Very grateful to whoever reply’s x (really don’t wanna retake and go to college)
UnknownSophie
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I totally understand how you feel.

I'm currently a year 12 student studying English Literature.

Just like you, I was failing English language horribly, my highest ever in a mock was a 4 and that wasn't until my last one. I felt so demotivated that I didn't even bother rising for my real one (but don't do that.) In the end, I received a grade 8.

My advice is that you practice, practice and more practice. Have beside you an example essay as guidance for the structure. Do practice essays and hand them to teachers or other peers that you know are doing well. Once you're more confident, have a go at one without the example and do it timed. Make sure you know what structures you'll need for each essay question e.g. PETAL, PETA ETA ETA, SISTER, A FOREST, PENCIL.

In the real exam, mark down the time in which you should finish each question, ensures you have time for all of them. Start from Q5 then Q4 - basically from highest mark to lowest.

For Q5, I used the picture. Remember is it a DESCRIPTIVE piece of writing. Split the image into sections, that gives you different parts to write about in detail. Think about your senses, use of adjectives, colours, tricolons and etc. Remember the different techniques you could use.