acrylik
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I am in year 10 and I am trying to figure out what to do and where to go for 6th form.

the options I am considering are the ib or 5/6 a levels
the reason is because I am a pretty well rounded student and I can't choose just 3 a levels. I have got mostly 7/8 in my recent exams but I can improve those grades by studying harder as I am a bit of a procrastinator

for ib I would take higher maths, chemistry and physics, standard German, English and art

for a level I would take maths, further maths, chemistry, psychology, probably art and maybe German too

I am doing all of these subjects at gcse, apart from psychology as it was not an option so I am doing geography but I don't think it is a subject I want to pursue

My maths teacher at school said for further maths a level you need normal maths too, and that the ib is not really the best for science/maths related courses at uni
and apparently having all higher maths/science subjects is the most difficult ib combination to take

I don't know which would be a better option but it is really hard to find a suitable ib sixth form as the ones nearer me don't do the right combination of subjects, ie not psychology or only standard maths

I know both of these options are a lot of work but I think I am prepared to handle it as I learn really well and I see no point in changing my options just because people think it is a difficult/challenging option

some options of courses I could take for uni - chemical engineering, maths (not with physics), psychological and behavioural sciences and architecture (hence the art)
I would really like to go to Cambridge or similar universities if that means anything
TSR Jessica
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Sorry you've not had any responses about this. Are you sure you've posted in the right place? Here's a link to our subject forum which should help get you more responses if you post there.
username3556062
Badges: 16
Rep:
?