The Student Room Group

Career Prospects MRes after MSc?? PLEASE HELP!!!

Hello, I need some good career advice from someone who has done either an MRes or MSc and or a PhD student as I want to figure out what my next move is.

Here is some background:

I graduated from Lancaster University with a 2.2 BSc Biochemistry now I know what you are thinking my life is over but I actually got few 2.1s in my 1st, 2nd and 3rd year modules and I got B+ and B in my dissertation module respectively. But I had some family issues in my 3rd year and did not revise as much as I could have i.e. didnt use my potential

In the end i got 2.2 in half of my modules and my overall mark for my degree was around 57%, very close an 2.1 :'(.

I started my MSc in Regenerative Medicine at Queen Mary University of London and got a merit and I received a distinction in my research project.

I am currently job hunting to get a entry level research post but it seems difficult.

MY QUESTION: I want to do an MRes in Vision Biology at UCL do you think they will take a 2.2 + merit MSc application, would they ask me why i want to a MRes?

Thank you for listening.
Original post by Nauman_KHAN
Hello, I need some good career advice from someone who has done either an MRes or MSc and or a PhD student as I want to figure out what my next move is.

Here is some background:

I graduated from Lancaster University with a 2.2 BSc Biochemistry now I know what you are thinking my life is over but I actually got few 2.1s in my 1st, 2nd and 3rd year modules and I got B+ and B in my dissertation module respectively. But I had some family issues in my 3rd year and did not revise as much as I could have i.e. didnt use my potential

In the end i got 2.2 in half of my modules and my overall mark for my degree was around 57%, very close an 2.1 :'(.

I started my MSc in Regenerative Medicine at Queen Mary University of London and got a merit and I received a distinction in my research project.