Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, so I graduated last year and I havent applied for much jobs nor do I have anything fancy that makes me stand out. i have a 2:1 in business management and a chartered management lvl 6 qualification. I also have a bit of consultancy experience. since i havent applied to many jobs and i'm not very prepared for maths/eng test, i have only had one interview since graduating last summer. Should i continue applying for work and apply for a pgce now so i have a spot in a uni so if i havent secured a job by september i can become a teacher. And no, its not what i want to be but it looks like i have no choice. Thanks

ReputationRep:
    I mean, with that attitude you're going to fail miserably at being a teacher. But hey, you do you. :P

ReputationRep:
    Teaching is not easy. If you don't want to do it that would become pretty clear in the interview and you probably wouldn't get a PGCE place. You certainly wouldn't pass a PGCE without enthusiasm, commitment and a willingness to work hard.

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't say this is a sure road to fail but I do get what one of the respondents said. If I were you, I would start applying for jobs and get some experience. You have the rest of your life to get bogged down in the world of teaching but having a grasp of the real world before being plunged back into the surreal world of education is no bad thing.

ReputationRep:
    Have you had someone look at your CV and see why you are struggling to get interviews? Are you tailoring your applications? Could a recruitment consultant help you find some suitable work? Are you aiming your sights a little too high- would applying for roles a step down help you get a foot in the door?