Leilalelia
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi all, I am currently a GCSE student and I want to study medicine at University, I wonder what A-levels I should take? ( I want to apply for oxford and cambridge universities)
Also, I looked online and its says I need chemistry, biology or math or physics plus another academic subject. I was planning on taking Math, Chemistry, Biology and Further math but I'm not sure if these are the right choices or how many choices I have?
Please advice!
username2752874
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Leilalelia)
Hi all, I am currently a GCSE student and I want to study medicine at University, I wonder what A-levels I should take? ( I want to apply for oxford and cambridge universities)
Also, I looked online and its says I need chemistry, biology or math or physics plus another academic subject. I was planning on taking Math, Chemistry, Biology and Further math but I'm not sure if these are the right choices or how many choices I have?
Please advice!
You only need three subjects.

And I don't think further maths is considered distcint by most medical schools. Physics is a better option if you really want to do four subjects

Choices are good overall
KingCrepe
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Please advice!
Those Choices are fine/ideal for Cambridge I think. I'm not sure how much they want further maths though, and if its not necessary i'd advise 3 subjects over 4.
Jsh2000uk
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Your subject choices are fine. Chemistry is essential and is the default requirement to enter most medical schools. "Another science" is also needed, such as Biology, Maths or physics. Maths and biology are probably the most useful for the medical field. Just to add, you cannot apply to both Oxford and Cambridge on your application, you must choose one. You also can only apply to 4 medical courses at 4 different Unis, you must choose one non medical course to make up the 5th option.
nexttime
Rep: