M. I.
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hiya, I'm studying for an upcoming trig examn and im a bit stuck on one of the example problems, could anyone maybe walk me through it. Thank you

The height of tide at the entrance to a harbour on a particular day can be modelled by the function h=3+2sin30t+1.5cos30t, where h is measured in meters, t in hours after midnight and 30t is in degrees.
(The values 2 and 1.5 represent the relative effects of the moon and sun respectively)

I. Show that 2sin30t+1.5cos30t can be written in the form 2.5sin(30t+a), where a is to be determined.
Ii. Find the height of tide at high water and the first time this occurs after midnight.
Iii. Find the range of the tide during the day.
RDKGames
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by M. I.)
Hiya, I'm studying for an upcoming trig examn and im a bit stuck on one of the example problems, could anyone maybe walk me through it. Thank you

The height of tide at the entrance to a harbour on a particular day can be modelled by the function h=3+2sin30t+1.5cos30t, where h is measured in meters, t in hours after midnight and 30t is in degrees.
(The values 2 and 1.5 represent the relative effects of the moon and sun respectively)

I. Show that 2sin30t+1.5cos30t can be written in the form 2.5sin(30t+a), where a is to be determined.
Ii. Find the height of tide at high water and the first time this occurs after midnight.
Iii. Find the range of the tide during the day.
What's confusing, exactly?
M. I.
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by RDKGames)
What's confusing, exactly?
See I think its because of how the answer has to be structured, like the first part I feel pretty ok with but part ii and iii are what have me confused on where to begin and what to do from there.
RDKGames
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by M. I.)