Frankly Franklyn
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I am currently in my first year of studding Btec Extended diploma Level 3 in IT. I'm aiming towards at least a DDD by the end of the course and then i'm planning to go to university to do software engineering.
I would like to know what the course is like for example, is it what you imagined, does it actually help you learn new skills in software engineering etc.

Go easy on me please, this is my first question. Thanks
yt7777
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Where are you hoping to study?

I did Computer Science after my BTEC level 3 in IT but did several Software Engineering modules and it taught me really useful skills.

Aside from the general programming modules of which we were taught Java, C, Python, PHP, JS. The Software Engineering modules taught things like: SDLC, Development methodologies (like you learn in some of your BTEC modules e.g. Waterfall, V model, Spiral, Agile, XP etc.), Requirements Analysis, UML modelling, Test driven development, Design patterns (e.g. MVC, Singleton, Factory etc.), Secure coding, Function point analysis, HCI (UI/UX), Version control (Git and SVN), Software Language Engineering (learning how to build your own programming languages for specific purposes) and more stuff I can't remember off the top of my head, and we did a substantial Software Engineering team project having to follow the Scrum methodology.

My course was straight Computer Science, unfortunately for me they added a Software Engineering pathway when I was in my second year so couldn't take it 😂 but the people on that course, Computer Science (Software Eng.), get to do a team Software Engineering project in first year and in year 2 they get a substantial enterprise team project with a company, which is pretty cool!

I went to Royal Holloway BTW, if you wanted to read more about the course - https://www.royalholloway.ac.uk/cour...gineering.aspx