Turn on thread page Beta

Declining an assessment day because of the process watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am currently a full-time student, on top of which I am working part-time in an unskilled but very well paid position. I applied for a graduate job and was invited to their assessment day. I have now been given a schedule for the day - the morning involves an interview and group exercise and everyone will take part of this. The afternoon involves a second interview and delivering a 10 minute presentation which I am expected to prepare beforehand, however only the top 5 candidates will be invited to stay for the afternoon and they will be announced at lunchtime.

I know that a lot of people would say that it is crazy to turn down this opportunity, however the fact that the company expects every candidate to prepare for the presentation and second interview which they might not be asked to do demonstrates that the company does not value its candidates' time and for this reason on principle, I am considering withdrawing my application (other than the loss of income due to taking the day off work).

Has anyone else ever known a company to ask candidates to prepare a presentation which they may never be asked to deliver?
    • Community Assistant
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    CV Helper
    (Original post by maths42)
    Congratulations on sticking to your principles. Enjoy working in unskilled but very well paid positions for the rest of your life!
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant