Turn on thread page Beta

How much should I have left over after rent? (London) watch

ReputationRep:
    I’m curious what London students typically have left over after paying rent and utilities? I’m an international student, so I’m limited to part time work. I won’t need public transport to get to work or school, so I’m just trying to budget for food and the basics.

I have savings to fall back on, but ideally I would only use that for emergencies and large, one off expenses. I’m curious how tightly one can live in London without feeling completely deprived.

ReputationRep:
    How can I answer your question if you don't give me any numbers?

ReputationRep:
    I’m not looking for a budget of my own, I just want to see what other people are living off of and what that affords them each month after rent is paid.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Gingeroot)
    I’m not looking for a budget of my own, I just want to see what other people are living off of and what that affords them each month after rent is paid.
    Well, that really depends on what you're spending and what cash you have, doesn't it?

ReputationRep:
    Yes it does. Care to share your budget?

ReputationRep:
    student halls ranges from 130 to 280 pw - central london

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Gingeroot)
    Yes it does. Care to share your budget?
    I have around £2k left after paying my rent of £710 a month. Hope that helps.

ReputationRep:
    £2 and 31 pence. Enough for a KitKat and diet coke.

enjoy

ReputationRep:
    >imagine thinking you can live in London without being in debt

No, on a serious note, this question is impossible to know without your budget. You'd be better off asking for the weekly cost of living.

Mine are:
    - rent - £240 a week all in - room in a shared house in Zone 2 (incl. utilities)
    - food - anywhere from £10 to £40 a week depending on what I'm cooking