2015 Edexcel New Spec - Route 2G: Spain Watch

aminuora
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm currently studying Spain as part of the new spec for A-Level History, but I'm finding it really difficult to write the essays, especially with establishing a 'valid criteria', so I would really appreciate it if somebody could read my essay and give me any constructive criticism and/or give me a grade.

Thanks a lot

P.S. this essay has not been proof-read, and also I understand that I probably will not be able to write this much in the exam, but I just wanted to make sure than I'm using the right techniques.

To what extent did Spain recover from the economic effects of the civil war by 1945?

The Civil War, between July 1936 to April 1939, had severe impact on Spain’s economy. Franco, leader of the Nationalists and now the Caudillo (and essentially dictator) of Spain had to deal with issues such as debts, damaged infrastructure, trade and industry which led a fall in industrial and agriculture output and food shortages due to the civil war; it had disrupted the economy and destabilised the country, leading to economic hardship and bleak conditions across Spain. WWII further exacerbated Spain’s economic conditions. To tackle these issues, Franco developed and implemented two economic policies: corporatism and autarky.