PARKING FINE- do I have to pay?

Watch
Znxox
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,
So I basically booked a parking space online as I was attending a concert, however, even though my satnav took me there, I apparently parked in the wrong car space or something ?? (It is a private car park) (Very confusing because I’m still sure it’s the right one)
So I recieved a parking fine thru the post. I’ve read online that certain fines you don’t have to pay...im new to driving so I’m just curious as to whether it’s compulsory to pay mine and the likelihood of them taking me to court. The fine is by total car parks (PTC). It also says that they have requested information through DVLA and recieved that I’m the registered keeper...I do have pics of my letter but I’m unsure of how to post lol
Any help would be appreciated thx
TobyLerone69
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
There are two ways to look at it;
1. You can ignore them, you haven't committed a crime you have just broken the contract you entered into when parking there. So if you ignore it they will send threatening letters in bold font and raise the price you pay. Eventually they'll either drop it or take you to a small claims court.
2. You can send them your information and attach evidence through the website on the back of your letter. They'll ignore any evidence you submit because they do and demand you pay them their parking fine (i'm guessing £42-50 going up to £75 after two weeks).

You don't have to pay them, but if you choose to ignore them you run a small risk of being taken to small claims court where you'll be forced to pay a higher amount and it'll affect your credit record.
Prasiortle
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Znxox)
Hi,