Turn on thread page Beta

Degree Apprenticeship age? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I’m in my first year of college and I want to start a degree apprenticeship for IT once I’ve finished college. However I can be quiet shy and find it hard to make new friends. My parents therefore are saying it’s a bad idea as I probably won’t make any friends and the company will be loads of middle aged men. Especially if I am moving across England to a new place where I don’t know anyone, I don’t think I will fit in well the whole 3 or 4 years that I will be there. Therefore i was wondering if there will mainly be middle aged men or if there will be loads of other apprentices and people my age (18) that are also there or if I will really struggle. Therefore will I be better off only going to uni to make more friends? Otherwise I worry about spending every lunchtime by myself as I won’t know anyone my age.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by SaturnAndSun)
    Hey, I’m in my first year of college and I want to start a degree apprenticeship for IT once I’ve finished college. However I can be quiet shy and find it hard to make new friends. My parents therefore are saying it’s a bad idea as I probably won’t make any friends and the company will be loads of middle aged men. Especially if I am moving across England to a new place where I don’t know anyone, I don’t think I will fit in well the whole 3 or 4 years that I will be there. Therefore i was wondering if there will mainly be middle aged men or if there will be loads of other apprentices and people my age (18) that are also there or if I will really struggle. Therefore will I be better off only going to uni to make more friends? Otherwise I worry about spending every lunchtime by myself as I won’t know anyone my age.
    Have you had the interview and looked around?
    Have you been offered the job?
    Maybe there are other apprentices?