The Student Room Group

Graduation: I don't want to go, should I miss it?

Hi everyone,

I'm coming to the end of med school now and I do not feel like going to graduation at all. Should I skip it or not?

This is my second time at uni (yep, I'm a graduate). I've really enjoyed my first degree (in a different uni and city) - it wasn't all stars and bliss but I enjoyed it - it was 3 fantastic years.

Now at my current uni, I've not had the best of times here. Apart from some individuals and moments, overall I've to say things weren't great at all - the student atmosphere was very fake and non-supportive and the course/uni here was rather disappointing in most areas.

I always try to see the goodness in everything around me but it was very tough to pick up good things over here.
Don't get me wrong, I don't have a grudge against anything/anyone. I do like the small city where the university is situated (generally relaxed and friendly), and the various things you can do, and some lovely friends and seniors I have had the luck to meet.
It's just...apart from them, my whole experience here has been terrible and I can't wait to leave.

Will I regret not attending graduation? I've thought about that, my answer is: I don't know but I don't think so.
Will my parents be disappointed? They've been to my first graduation. They're not a fan of my current uni too. Tbh, I don't think they'll care.

Biggest incentives for me to attend events like this is so I can meet friends, colleagues and mentors, celebrate with them and wish them well. I've opportunities to do that (a few of us have organised gatherings and meetings etc, got holidays planned and etc).
I'd appreciate have a solid holiday before F1 to focus on family and friends tbh.

Now the question is, should I go? Or should I just leave it. I don't feel like I want to go, but part of my feels guilty for not going.

What would you guys' advice be? I'd really appreciate your help. Thanks in advance!

Scroll to see replies