Turn on thread page Beta

Hi,

So I'm a biological natural sciences student at Cambridge, but I really feel like I shouldn't be here. My offer last year was A*A*A, but I got A*A*B instead & was let in. The A* grades in Biology and Maths, the B in Chemistry.

Throughout GCSEs and A Levels I'd been struggling with Crohn's disease and I've had multiple surgeries throughout the latter years of high school. I didn't do "great" in my GCSEs either because of this - it was the hardest period of my life by far

But I'm well now, but after seeing so many people with A*A*A, 3A*, 4A* etc I'm getting a sense of being let in on sympathy. I'm happy with the grades I got under the circumstances - my teachers thought I'd get a lot worse, maybe even fail because of the amount of school I missed - think my attendance was roughly 80% throughout those years. Catching up with notes constantly is hell

I imagine I did well at interview and on the admissions assessment, but I really think that's the ONLY thing I did well.

I'm doing well on the course as of now, my tutors even praise me during tutorials but I feel like a lot of people would do well at Cambridge even if they were declined. Despite doing well here, I don't think that means I should've been let in - there's people who were rejected with 5A*grades that would be crushing the degree.

My A Level results are amongst the bottom end for the science and maths guys here - sometimes I get ridiculed for them by my friends & play it off, but it kinda bothers me.

I've heard on here that the average is A*A*A here? But I guess it's higher for science & maths and lower for humanities which might be why I feel like a black sheep haha.

I know 9/10 people would be happy with A*A*B and to study here, but it drives insecurities when you were let in with less than the requirements and that most people in science and maths departments have better grades than you. I'm below average for Oxford and Imperial College too, so that doesn't help.