University of Gloucestershire - Lack of Prestige?

Watch
Lxs152
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I'm currently a US undergraduate student. I originally planned to study law at either Sheffield, Exeter, Bristol, or Gloucestershire. My GPA will likely be 0.1 points too low (at application time) for the first three. This is due to an event that happened in my life during my first year so I'd rather no one is rude. However, for Gloucestershire I am already above the requirements. An option is for me to top it off with an LLM at Bristol after (international law).
Note: do NOT spend this thread discussing how bad X school is...I want true advice, not juvenile teenagers (or adults).
I like Gloucestershire because of the campus I would study at, the people I know from there, and the price for international students is less than the others. I already attend a four year uni with $40k per year.
In America, uni name is very important. Prestige matters and you will be excluded if you don't have it. So, I'm concerned about the prestige of Glos and therefore the job opportunities upon completion of the law course. I do NOT want to work in London at a MC firm. I'd rather not sign my young life away. I'm open to multiple career paths (ie consultancy, marketing, accountancy, etc) but I'd prefer law in a regional firm.
YES I AM AWARE that I need a sponsor and if I do not marry my British fiancé by 2022 then it will be okay because I'm planning ahead.
I am truly giving up a lot for this, such as my parents who strongly disapprove as well as a US law degree. As such, I need to know that it won't be for naught.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Lxs152)