I want to teach my brother to drive...

Watch
Misc
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Ive been driving for 8 years now. Fairly good driver if i may say so myself.My brother just turned 18 and has started professional lessons (currently on #3)

I want to take him out to give him some extra practice between lessons.

Anyone who has learnt with a parent got any pointers for me? The obvious disadvantage is no dual controls in my car.

Im thinking best to start him off in an empty car park or industrial estate on a sunday.

Any other advice or tips?
DrawTheLine
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Misc)
Ive been driving for 8 years now. Fairly good driver if i may say so myself.My brother just turned 18 and has started professional lessons (currently on #3)

Anyone who has learnt with a parent got any pointers for me? The obvious disadvantage is no dual controls in my car.

Im thinking best to start him off in an empty car park or industrial estate on a sunday.

My dad refused to take either me or my brother out in his car until we had passed. Even when I did pass and he took me to empty car parks to practice bay parking (something not taught in my town when I did my test) I hated it. I could actually see him tense up and grip the door in fear sometimes. It could just be how my dad is, but I would not recommend learning how to drive or anything with a family member.

My issue with my dad was I learned to drive in a fairly new car, my dad's car is over 10 years old, so the gears and clutch are a lot stiffer than the one I learned in. My dad didn't believe this and thought I wasn't trying hard enough, until he got a new car and realised I was right. I think learning to drive in 2 different cars at the same time would have been very confusing and difficult for me.
Lemur14
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Misc)

Currently learning to drive and go out with my dad quite regularly