Steve_01_
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I am currently in first year of A levels. My predicted grades are likely to be lower than the minimum requirements for the courses I wish to apply for (Mechanical/Civil engineering at Bristol, Bath, Southampton or UCL) due to being ill for 9 months last year and admittedly I have been quite lazy this year. However I've recently got my act together and at this rate am extremely likely to achieve the grades I need at A level next year. Rather than settling for a course at a university I am not too excited about, I am considering taking a gap year and reapplying for uni during the gap year. During the gap year I plan to do an engineering internship, and if that is not possible then get a job or volunteering. Also general self improvement as my life has fallen behind in other areas as well. Anyway, I have a couple of questions and your general thoughts will be appreciated.

tl;dr: Want to do mechanical/civil engineering at Bristol,Bath, Southhampton or UCL. I have some questions and would appreciate your opinions.

Will universities such as Bristol and UCL look unfavourably at applicants who have taken a gap year, especially for a competitive course such as Engineering?

Are there any financial incentives I will miss out on by taking a gap year e.g. government subsidies?

Thanks in advance.
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Steve_01_)