Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Was offered to teach English Secondary with Teach First but wanted to teach Religious Education as I have a genuine passion and enthusiasm for this. My degree is in anthropology which has few modules on religion but during the A Level covered a lot of religion. They said based on my A levels they would only be able to offer me to teach English Language. But surely based off of my degree in Anthropology it would make more sense to offer me Religous Education rather than English based off of A levels I completed in 2012???? Thoughts and advice please? Considering taking a year out to study Religion as an MA just so I can secure secondary teaching in this subject.. Could I try a Schools Direct route instead? or PGCE not with Teach First?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by maayaaninca)
    Was offered to teach English Secondary with Teach First but wanted to teach Religious Education as I have a genuine passion and enthusiasm for this. My degree is in anthropology which has few modules on religion but during the A Level covered a lot of religion. They said based on my A levels they would only be able to offer me to teach English Language. But surely based off of my degree in Anthropology it would make more sense to offer me Religous Education rather than English based off of A levels I completed in 2012???? Thoughts and advice please? Considering taking a year out to study Religion as an MA just so I can secure secondary teaching in this subject.. Could I try a Schools Direct route instead? or PGCE not with Teach First?