The Student Room Group

Cambridge A-Levels as a private student

I am an international student from Brazil who recently moved to the UK.
Last year I tried to apply for an economics degree through UCAS, but since I did not meet the entry requirements, they offered me a foundation year entry, which I did not accept.
Since then, I have been privately studying to take CIE A-Levels in November. I plan to take Economics, Mathematics and Further Mathematics papers, I chose those last two due to the fact that I took three years of a physics degree in Brazil (It is a four-year course there) already and have a solid mathematical foundation.
It has been pretty hard for me to understand your education system and I would like to know if you have any tips that would help me in this journey. I will leave some questions below that worry me.

1)CIE A-Levels are equivalent to normal A-Levels, right?
2)Do you think that this combination of subjects is adequate?
3)If you know of any private centres I could book my tests in the Midlands or even in London It would help a lot, the best one I found was this one - https://www.tutorsandexams.uk/ - but it is pretty expensive.
4)Since I am considered a mature student (21 yo), are there any differences in the way universities handle my application?
5)I have been studying for all subjects through the Cambridge books for the A-Levels, Am I on the right path?

Thanks in advance :smile:

Scroll to see replies

I am just surprised you would not have taken Physics at A Level.

CIE A Levels are just a different exam board to my knowledge.

I'm not very knowledgeable in this area but I wish you the BEST of luck! :smile:

You might be best off ringing the exam board tomorrow and entering yourself, it's cheaper than someone else (you're paying for admin rather than effort or the ACTUAL exam)
Reply 2
Original post by ohdearstudying
I am just surprised you would not have taken Physics at A Level.