Financial Modeling -Summer Watch

Viola
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
I am from UCL, and was looking to take financial modeling classes in the summer of sorts, outside the syllabus and course time. Does anyone have an idea of where I can find such classes, or tutors etc. or should I give up and just try to figure out from Benninga's book?
nads29
Report 10 years ago
I know of a lecturer at the University of Westminster, where I did my BSc (Hons) Economics. He's name is Mike Pokorny, he taught me two modules where we had to do a lot of financial modelling (in analysis of economics and business data, and in my final year I did a module called quantitative finance, where i carried out an extensive study on the capital asset pricing model). May be you could try get in touch with the University and in particular, the lecturer i'm talking about. I would definately recommend him coz he's really good, and I learned a lot of him! The beninga book is also quite good, I used it as well. Neways, good luck with your passion for financial modelling.
Viola
Rep:
?
Thank you so much! Do you think he does external summer courses if you are not in the university?
nads29
Report 10 years ago
I am not sure coz I graduated last year and haven't been in touch with him lately. But you could call up the Uni and ask for Mike Pokorny, and once your through to him, ask him what you want to ask.. Good luck!!
defiantshrimp
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
(Original post by Viola)
I am from UCL, and was looking to take financial modeling classes in the summer of sorts, outside the syllabus and course time. Does anyone have an idea of where I can find such classes, or tutors etc. or should I give up and just try to figure out from Benninga's book?
Why on earth would you want financial modeling classes? Do something fun with your summer! It's not going to make a blind bit of a difference when you apply for internships or graduate positions with banks. They will teach you all that.