University - What To Buy And What To Do Watch

deanhill1072007
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
Questions:

1. Can somebody tell me the things I should buy for university (I'm a first year undergraduate living at home) such as stationary, writing utensils etc. Should I apply for a student bank account, discount travel cards etc.

And...

2. Should I invest in a voice recorder or are these a waste of time since some lecturers may not like the idea and it's not something seen that much in lectures or seminars?

THANK YOU.
dogsbody
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
(Original post by deanhill1072007)
Questions:

1. Can somebody tell me the things I should buy for university (I'm a first year undergraduate living at home) such as stationary, writing utensils etc. Should I apply for a student bank account, discount travel cards etc.

Definatly take advantage of any and all student offers. Student bank accounts tend to offer good overdraft facilities with low or no interest rates (good for emergency money - "Hmm, pub or not to pub, that is the question. Have overdraft, will pub!!!"), plus nice goodies to entice you. I'm still using my free YP railcard I got for signing up and I finished uni last year! A YP railcard is well worth it if you plan on using the train alot, you recoup the savings very quickly!

In terms of stationary, I got through using a pad of paper (like the ones you buy in tesco's, smith's etc) and a pen that you feel comfortable writing with. (although it ended up being like 20 cause i kept loosing them).

That said, courses will have different requirements - I was doing what amounted to a practical media degree, so I used the pad for doing notes and virtually all my practical work was computer based. So obviously that scenario may not apply. Stick to a pad and a pen to start with and you can always get more stuff

And...