Do I need to do Chemistry for Biomedical Science into Dentistry?

Watch
santiago4367
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi, I am in September going to apply to a new college to retake year 12. I would like to initially do Dentistry but I am going to go through the Biomedical Route and apply as a postgraduate. I will be doing Biology, Psychology and Sociology this September hopefully.

But my question is do I need to do Chemistry instead of Psychology as the second science or can I stay with Psychology as most universities accept it as a second science with Biology? I find Chemistry very difficult but I haven't done it at A-level and would much rather do Psychology. Will doing Psychology deter universities from letting me do Biomedical science and Dentistry and favour chemistry instead?

Thank You
GLeigh
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I’m currently a biomedical science student who got into uni without chemistry.
It really depends on how which uni you apply for, polytechnics tend to be more lenient compared to the traditional universities.
I’m going to be applying for grad level dentistry next year so I’ve contacted a few uni’s regarding there entry requirements.
Here are a few things I’ve learned!
- The university from which you get your biomedical science degree is not important when applying for grad dentistry. They do not care if you came from a traditional uni or from a polytechnic.
- Some unis (Kings College London and aberdeen) do not care what a-level grades you achieved or what topics they were in when you apply for Grad dentistry.
-Other uni’s (Leeds, Liverpool etc) look at Alevel grades aswell as the degree you achieved. These grades are usually B grade upwards.
- Regarding which subjects you should choose, each uni differs on their requirements, but remember it’s very hard to do an Alevel in a topic you don’t enjoy so I wouldn’t do chem if you don’t enjoy it!
Let me know if you have anymore q’s
santiago4367
Badges: 2
Rep:
?