Microbiology: Medicine 5th option? Watch

Random000
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I want to apply for medicine this year but I am unsure of what to put in for my fifth option. I was researching courses that were similar to medicine so that I won't have to do extra work experience or extra preparation for it while focusing on medicine. I know courses like biomedicine and neuroscience link fairly well but I am unsure whether I would want to do them. What do you think of putting microbiology as a fifth option? Would using a medicine personal statement really affect my chances of getting into a microbiology course?

I really wouldn't mind doing microbiology if I don't get into medicine. If I do change my mind I'm willing to take a gap year but in case I decide to fully give up on medicine after not getting in, I want to have a backup which I would at least enjoy.
KharmaMedic
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hey!

I studied microbiology and immunology in Toronto before going to KCL for med. Definitely won't hinder your chances! If you end up doing a Bsc. first just make sure you kill it!

-KharmaMedic
Random000
Rep:
?
(Original post by KharmaMedic)
Hey!

I studied microbiology and immunology in Toronto before going to KCL for med. Definitely won't hinder your chances! If you end up doing a Bsc. first just make sure you kill it!

-KharmaMedic
Thank you so much for your reply 😊
I have a another quick question if you don’t mind. Do you know what the difference between microbiology and medical microbiology is? At first I thought medical microbiology was a postgraduate course but it seems some unis do an undergraduate course for it as well. Do you think the jobs you can get from microbiology would be the same as medical microbiology?
Nottie
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I got microbiology at Imperial as my 5th option. Got an offer without any extra PS or interview
Random000
Rep:
?
(Original post by Nottie)