raven48
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
When answering questions when evaluating statements how can I make them effective in terms of writing style and answering the question properly?
Alan88
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
I’ve just finished the first year of a part-time MSc and I took a Criminal Psychology module and despite the fact I’ve never done anything Psychology related before I got 78%.

In order to give specific advice, it will depend on what area of psychology you are looking at but also what your question is. Generally, you should:

Have a clear introduction that outlines what your essay is going to address.

Discuss areas of your topic, but try not to be too descriptive.

Try and link in aspects of theory.

Don’t immediately take things as being fact. When you are looking at studies, look at other relevant research and see if it undermines it. Think about the potential limitations of studies, what was the sample, how were they selected, how many people were used, etc.

If you provide some more information, I’ll be able to try and give more specific advice.
raven48
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
(Original post by Alan88)
I’ve just finished the first year of a part-time MSc and I took a Criminal Psychology module and despite the fact I’ve never done anything Psychology related before I got 78%.

In order to give specific advice, it will depend on what area of psychology you are looking at but also what your question is. Generally, you should:

Have a clear introduction that outlines what your essay is going to address.

Discuss areas of your topic, but try not to be too descriptive.

Try and link in aspects of theory.

Don’t immediately take things as being fact. When you are looking at studies, look at other relevant research and see if it undermines it. Think about the potential limitations of studies, what was the sample, how were they selected, how many people were used, etc.