The Student Room Group

Scared of failing university 😩

Hiya. So recently I have been studying a top up year in dance. We have been doing hip hop and house which isn’t me. I’m currently a dancer who does ballet, jazz, tap, musical theatre etc.. I studied the top up year because it was a top up course close to home due to my aniexty. I have previously performed abroad, have done teaching and in my old uni I was getting distinctions and merits. But at this new uni it has been completely the opposite i’ve Been getting thirds and 2:2’s the best would be a 2:1 and i’ve Been getting really upset about it as I have tried so hard and spent so much time in trying to pass. Anyway the bottom line of it is I failed my hip hop exam due to it being free styling. I wasn’t the only person to fail. But every time I went uni I felt like I never fitted in, I was so scared to go in all the time even though my attendance was good, I was so crippled up. I felt like my teachers were never supportive of me and it was hard to book tutorials. In actual fact when they told me I failed they recorded me in an interview and tried intimidating me? Asking so what are you going to do after uni? You do know hip hop happens on the street you know not just in theatres. Like I was stupid. And starting saying I was always tense so I stuck up for myself and said that’s something personal and not just my dancing. Anyway a couple of weeks ago apparently someone who failed the course as well made a complaint on social media about the teacher which was quite personal to the point she could have lost her job. But she messaged me saying I could resist the assessment 1 minute choreography and 1 minute freestyle which would be so better for me and now she has gone back on her word I said I have been informed by the assessment team you might not need to retake the module. Now my aniexty is ticking off just waiting. I do think one minute i’ve Passed and then the next minute i’m Doubting i am failing. The truth is