Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, Im new here, been reading a lot and have a question.
    I am 43 and have always been good at practical stuff, love taking things apart and fixing them cars, motorbikes etc. I started studying way back when I was 18 and as my head wasnt in the right place at that time I dropped out after trying a year of Electronic then swapping to Mechanical and doing even less of that. I've worked in different jobs and none have satisfied me very well as they haven't made best use of my skill set. I have thought long and hard about what I might do and have gone full circle back to what I never finished....study. I like both the Electrical and the Mechanical side of things, however I hear Mechanical Engineering is more practical which suits me a bit more.

What are the job prospects like for someone in their late 40s coming out with a degree in engineering? I'm not sure what job I would like to do with the degree yet, but I'm worried it may be whatever job I can actually get rather than what job I want to choose.

Ian
    • Community Assistant
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    Do you have a job/sort of job in mind that you'd want when graduating?

When you approach unis about your course, you can ask them about things like graduate employment prospects- often they will be happy to be quite specific about what there students do after graduating. This is a major selling point for many courses.

If you've got a specific job in mind, you could ask at open days about what might be the right course for this job. You could also see if you know anyone who knows someone with this type of job and ask them how they got to where they are now.

ReputationRep: