The Student Room Group

Starting Youtube

I’m making this thread just to ask for a bit of advice. So basically I’ve always wanted to film YouTube videos, infact I’ve been part of a YouTube community before and I enjoyed everything about it. Also the experiences some people get from YouTube are absolutely amazing and I want to be part of that again. I’ve literally put this off for so long but I have a long summer now and I want to start.

So I currently have a YouTube Channel with about 10,000 subscribers but these subs were from videos I made a long time ago that weren’t my face, they were animations. Anyway my first question is would you recommend I used that channel or started a new one? Like I earned my old subscribers but only a very select few would probably watch my videos. However starting again with 0 after having 10,000 seems horrible! :laugh:

That’s the main question really, I guess also what videos do you guys like watching? I was going to kind of Make my channel like about my student lifestyle starting with uni since I go this year, I thought those videos might be quite interesting for some people. Also if I do restart my old channel would you recommend I made a video like introducing myself. I don’t know I’m really nervous but I also really want to do it.
(edited 5 years ago)
Reply 1
Starting Youtube would be a great opportunity, but it is competitive. I'd keep with your old channel as that can boast views and depending on Youtube guidelines may be able to get you started on the payment plans.

With starting your Youtube journey think about what videos you may want to create, what are your interests? Keep that in mind. Also what are the videos you mostly search on Youtube as that can contribute to the content you may want to create.