oban12
Badges: 7
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I would really appreciate some advice !
I am looking at Unis for Open Days right now such as Durham and Oxford to do Classics.
As a state school student I never had the opportunity to study Latin or Greek GCSE and of course subsequently could not do the A Levels in them either.
I currently study Classical Civilisation, English Literature and History A Levels, which I love. There are also Latin and Greek clubs being set up at my college which I would love to join and some beginners books I would like to look into reading.
I am worried that my lack of experience with these languages would put me at a disadvantage with a Classics degree, despite the fact I would be applying for the Classics courses that do not require Latin or Greek A Level !
Thank you for any advice
euphrosynay
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
firstly, your a-level combination sounds wonderful. i imagine that those three humanities work so well when you're studying them in depth: classical civilisation and history both enhancing your ability to relate and judge sources, classical civilisation and english both shaping how you see literature in relation to the society that influenced it, and all of them helping you craft critical and evaluative judgements based on both the tangible and abstract.

in other words, those options will no doubt be valued! parts of the classics course such as philosophy, history and archaeology would already be open to you - it's simply that your study would be enriched by using sources in the respective languages.