Should I buy the books of my set texts or the analysis books of my set texts?

Watch
username3558104
Badges: 13
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
I've started the GCSE English Literature course and have been told that we will have some set texts. Should I buy the actual book (eg An Inspector Calls) or should I get the analysis revision guides of it? (eg CGP Macbeth Text Guide)

I'm also very lost on where if I do buy a text guide, which version is best? I'm sure some of the experts of English here (I'm not very good at it) should know.

If I do buy the actual book, what version of the book should I get? I'm open to any recommendations.

Thanks in advance!
absolutelysprout
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
i'd get both the set text and the revision guide if i were you. makes it a lot easier to make your own notes on certain things.
unless the teachers have copies of the set text they're willing to give you:dontknow:
username3558104
Rep:
(Original post by entertainmyfaith)
i'd get both the set text and the revision guide if i were you. makes it a lot easier to make your own notes on certain things.
unless the teachers have copies of the set text they're willing to give you:dontknow:
This would be something I would be open to, but I don't have loads of space in my room so I wanna get the least amount of revision guides for each subject possible. I'll be buying books for other subjects alongisde this. Essentially, I'm just looking for an efficient book to provide me with quotes and analysis for the exam, but I don't want to be limited to using websites for books and such.
absolutelysprout
Badges: 21
Rep:
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by seriouslygcse)