Which eras of history did you cover at school? Watch

shadowdweller
  • TSR Support Team
  • Peer Support Volunteers
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
What eras of history did you cover at school? Were there any major times you think were missed, or not covered in enough depth or accuracy?

In addition to this, have you continued learning about any of the eras you studied, and if so, what sparked such interest in them?
IndigoComet800
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
This year for my GCSEs I studied
Weimar and Nazi Germany
Cold War
Elizabethan Era
Medicine through time (medieval, renaissance, trenches and modern)

I enjoyed most of my history lessons but I felt they cut off some of the most important bits. For example, Nazi Germany cuts off just as WW2 starts meaning we don't learn about the holocaust or any other things that happen in WW2. I see this as a problem because it doesn't give a closed ending on Nazi Germany.

Cold War was good but at times I found it boring such as all the conferences but that's a matter of opinion.

Sometimes different books would give us different statistics which made you feel like you can be too inaccurate in the exam.

We didn't explore the Vietnam war for history but I heard that's another topic so that's not too bad. We did the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan which is basically the Vietnam of the communists
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
cerysdafina
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
for my gcses, this year i did:
Weimar and Nazi Germany
Development of the USA: 1920-1990
Russia in transition: 1905-1924
we also did our controlled assessment on dunkirk and evacuations in ww2

I loved history it’s by far my favourite subject, the topic i enjoyed most was definitely america and i already knew a lot about it from watching documentaries and reading books in my spear time.