The Student Room Group

Driving test nerves

Hello. Wondered if anybody could offer me any advice? About a month ago I failed my driving test due to nerves as I was rushing and didn’t take my time properly causing me to fail as I wasn’t looking closely enough and it was really hard to see, causing me to fail because of observation. My dad is a qualified instructor and I have severe anxiety and tells me I am more than ready for my test and I deserve to pass because I am a really good driver and can pass easily if I don’t over think things and just drive” however my test is in 3 days and the last 2 days I have become really nervous and started doing things wrong. For instance on my last test I had the bay park and I did this perfectly on my test, can I do a bay park now NO. I really want to cancel this test but he won’t let me as he says he knows I am good enough to pass and that I will never feel 100% ready. But how can I feel confident when I am messing these things up that I never used to mess up? I am also panicking because recently he had heard that they have recently introduced a new test route which I have only covered once each because these never used to be a rest route and they are really complicated and I genuinely feel if this comes up I my test I will not be able to do it due to nerves and stress? Can anyone help?
Severe anxiety is down to overthinking and being pessimistic. Do the opposite; Be optimistic and say to yourself that you can drive. If you really say you're a good driver, then stop being nervous and stay with that thought.
Original post by TSR_Leon
Severe anxiety is down to overthinking and being pessimistic. Do the opposite; Be optimistic and say to yourself that you can drive. If you really say you're a good driver, then stop being nervous and stay with that thought.

Thank you I will do my best