Elly_H
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Ok, so I was desperate to go to Uni in London, applied to UCL and KCL and got rejected despite having all the right qualifications (I did consider applying to some of the less popular London Universities just for the lifestyle but decided that I wanted to go to the best University that my grades could get me into). I've accepted that this isn't happening, and as I'm not prepared to take another gap year I want to go somewhere else with plenty of stuff to do.

I'm now holding unconditional offers from Leicester and Birmingham, and I'm quite keen on the latter as it has a lot of the things that attracted me to living in London - big city atmosphere, good nightlife, a few theatres (I'm studying English Lit). Thing is, I've never actually been to Birmingham apart from to visit the University, and I'd like to know more about student life (or just life in general) in the City. Do people tend to stick to the areas around the campus or do they venture further afield? I don't want to be constantly in the 'Student Bubble' of the campus and was wondering what there is to do in Birmingham itself - I know it's got a bad rep as some kind of 1960's concrete dump but I'm sure that it's not as bad as everyone says. Is there enough to keep me busy there for 3 years? :confused:
Kitty Pimms
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Bad luck on not getting into your first choices, but in some ways it's a great opportunity - as you say, Birmingham has lots going on, it's only an hour and a half from London on the train, and it's a lot cheaper - which you will appreciate as a student It's not as busy as London but it's also a lot less manic, and you don't have to use the tube!! I'm told the English department at the uni is also excellent, although I can't comment on that personally.