How to build a computer program (for an absolute beginner)

Watch
rlthyca
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,
I'm starting my PHD in September and as part of my research end goals, I'm hoping to turn a database into a program that will run reverse regressions on new information against the information within the database and offer the analyses in a simplified term. To build the database and carry out the initial analyses I'll be using SPSS, but need the end product to be easily accessible and easy to use. Can anyone offer any advice? It might not even be a program that I need to make! So any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
winterscoming
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I've never used nor heard of SPSS before, but a quick search seems like the creators of SPSS have created a plugin which would allow you to use Python within SPSS itself, so you might be able to write Python code to perform these operations on your data:
https://www.spss-tutorials.com/pytho...ss-what-is-it/

Python tends to be a fairly beginner-friendly programming language; its syntax is rather clean and expressive; however 'programming' is a whole skillset in itself and requires a new way of thinking to get your mind around computation and algorithmic problem-solving (i.e. the process of writing algorithms to solve problems).

If you're completely new to programming, try this free online course - 'Python for Everybody' to get a basic understanding of Python itself -
https://www.coursera.org/specializations/python (When clicking the 'enrol' buttons on each of the 5 courses, choose the 'Audit' link to avoid the paid certification)
Python for Everybody website - more course content here and an e-book: https://www.py4e.com/
Alternatively, some neat interactive lessons here: https://www.codecademy.com/learn/learn-python