Shona10
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I’m really struggling to relate my A Level subjects of Maths, English Lit and History to a degree in Media and Broadcasting- please help 😖
Sinnoh
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
You don't have to directly talk about how each subject relates. Talk about why you like the course and what made you choose it
Shona10
Rep:
?
(Original post by Sinnoh)
You don't have to directly talk about how each subject relates. Talk about why you like the course and what made you choose it
I wish we could but that’s not what we’ve been told, and I know they won’t let us do it as you’ve said🙃😫
Muttley79
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Shona10)
I wish we could but that’s not what we’ve been told, and I know they won’t let us do it as you’ve said🙃😫
It's YOUR PS - I'm a teacher and although we give guidance, we do not stop students writing in their own style.
Sinnoh
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
It seems strange to me. Different universities do look for different things in your personal statements.
For instance: Manchester want sound reasons for choosing the subject. That can be from your A-level choices or it can be from something else, like additional reading or work experience that you've done. Cambridge want to see how your interest in the subject is shown outside the classroom. Durham advise that you target it directly towards the course you want to take. QMUL want to see if you're up to date and informed in your subject. (This is what admissions tutors apparently said)
Basically; don't waffle about your A-level subject syllabus.
Shona10
Rep:
?
(Original post by Sinnoh)
It seems strange to me. Different universities do look for different things in your personal statements.