The Student Room Group

Don't know what to do after A levels....

(edited 10 months ago)
Original post by ghost17
I am currently studying Business, Maths and Engineering, I am not particularly interested in the subjects I am doing I just really chose them because I am fairly good at maths. I have to apply to uni by the end of the year and I don't know what degree I want to do, what job I hope to get or what uni to go to.

I don't want to take a gap year and really I am only thinking of going to uni just so I can get a good job. I don't really want to go to uni as I absolutely suck at writing essays but I don't want to go straight to full time employment either. I honestly don't know what to do and I only have the summer to decide. I know whatever choice I make now will impact my future but my mind is completely blank at the moment.

Please help :frown:

have you thought of apprenticeships?
Original post by ghost17
I am currently studying Business, Maths and Engineering, I am not particularly interested in the subjects I am doing I just really chose them because I am fairly good at maths. I have to apply to uni by the end of the year and I don't know what degree I want to do, what job I hope to get or what uni to go to.

I don't want to take a gap year and really I am only thinking of going to uni just so I can get a good job. I don't really want to go to uni as I absolutely suck at writing essays but I don't want to go straight to full time employment either. I honestly don't know what to do and I only have the summer to decide. I know whatever choice I make now will impact my future but my mind is completely blank at the moment.

Well, what subjects are you interested in? What are your passions and pursuits? This should help you guide your decisions, far more than A level subjects that you don’t enjoy.
Reply 3
Original post by ghost17

You could do business engineering,