The Student Room Group

What igcse's should I take if I want to do Clinical Psychology?

As previously stated I want to do Clinical Psych at uni and maybe grad school. So to get in to study this at a good university I have to finger out what igcse's that will help me in my ultimate goal. I am already talking Math, English, Biology and Religious Studies. My main other options are Sociology, Psychology, Chemistry or Business Studies. If anyone knows what subjects will help me maybe that are not listed or perhaps suggestions of what combinations of subjects that would work( bare in mind I am doing these exams in one year, and I am not that good at science). Thanks.
(edited 5 years ago)
From my experience (two older siblings - one of whom is currently studying psychology at uni), the GCSEs or iGCSEs you take don't matter too much in comparison to your A-Levels (which is what unis are interested in).

I would, however, recommend you take Psychology GCSE to give you a basis for the subject (although it is in no way necessary).

The Morrisby Careers website recommends that you take 5+ subjects for GCSE, including Maths, English and ideally one or more science in order to become a Clinical Psychologist, so although you have mentioned that you're "not that good at science" it might be useful to take Chemistry as well.

Otherwise, do whatever GCSEs / iGCSEs you like the best - you may well decide that Clinical Psychology isn't for you at some point and it would be a shame to end up doing subjects you don't particularly like in order to follow one career path.

Good luck!
Original post by awanderingpixel
From my experience (two older siblings - one of whom is currently studying psychology at uni), the GCSEs or iGCSEs you take don't matter too much in comparison to your A-Levels (which is what unis are interested in).

I would, however, recommend you take Psychology GCSE to give you a basis for the subject (although it is in no way necessary).