The Student Room Group

3rd class honours degree, past regrets

Hi guys,

I would hugely appreciate any advice. Basically in 2013 I graduated from Uni with a 3rd class honours degree. Without disclosing too much, it was in the medical, nursing, health sciences sector. I have been sitting on my degree ever since (largely because I felt no employer in that field would look at me) I have since gone on to work as a carer despite liking the job, I feel a bit silly since I spent 4 years at Uni and I'm now in a job where the pay is pretty poor. It's not where I had imagined I'd be 5 years ago.

The two years leading up to my graduation were very traumatic for me, without going into too much detail, I wasn't coping well and I kept everything largely to myself. There were most definitely extenuating circumstances affecting my performance. Although my professor did recommend me to visit psychological services on campus, I missed lectures neglected my studies and began to lose interested in my course.

Looking back I really wish I handled things differently. Although I managed to scrape a pass and got my degree I still feel I could have accomplished much more had things been different.

I am now in a situation where I wish to either retrain, or get into the field that I qualified in as the money would be much better than what I'm currently earning. I just worry now that too much water has gone under the bridge and that (a) no university would even consider me if I wished to go back to study and (b) if I did indeed try to find work in the area I qualified in, too much time has passed by and my skills will have diminished in that area, I'd even volunteer at this point in order to gain experience.

I'm in a better place now then where I was 5 years ago and want to try make another go of it re: my career, but I just feel in limbo atm. I want to achieve, do more with myself but really don't know where to begin.