The Student Room Group

Overlapping modules

Short version: How do universities deal with overlapping content from undergrad to a post grad taught masters?

Long version: I am currently studying maths as an undergrad but wish to study a masters in statistics at a different university. I am planning to take some advanced statistics modules in my third year (time series, likelihood inference, medical statistics, multivariate statistics). I have seen these modules listed in masters courses offered by other institutions, and in some cases modules with a partial overlap in content.

Would I still be able to opt for these modules? And where the overlapping content is compulsory, will I still be able to apply for that university?

I would very much appreciate some advice, thank you!! :smile:
Original post by ben789
Short version: How do universities deal with overlapping content from undergrad to a post grad taught masters?

Long version: I am currently studying maths as an undergrad but wish to study a masters in statistics at a different university. I am planning to take some advanced statistics modules in my third year (time series, likelihood inference, medical statistics, multivariate statistics). I have seen these modules listed in masters courses offered by other institutions, and in some cases modules with a partial overlap in content.

Would I still be able to opt for these modules? And where the overlapping content is compulsory, will I still be able to apply for that university?

I would very much appreciate some advice, thank you!! :smile: