dayone
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I have received offers for the MPhilStud at UCL and KCL, and am having a hard time deciding which to choose.

I am an EU student and have secured a full grant from my country's research council, so funding is not an issue. After completing the MPhil I am planning, depending on funding opportunities, to either return to my home country for a Phd or embark on a graduate program in the US.

I am leaning slightly towards UCL, because it seems to have a more tight-knit graduate community, *slightly* more apt supervision and the course has a clearer structure (weekly seminars as opposed to do-whatever-you-want-just-submit-research-on-time at KCL). My worry is that the structure of the course at UCL may be too rigid once my research interests and dissertation topic crystalise. Also, there is a considerably bigger amount of writing to do (ten essays + dissertation at UCL vs six essays + dissertation at KCL), which I am not sure leads to better writing skills or, contrary, compromised quality. KCL seems like the overall safer option, as from what I have gathered they are happy to let their research students work individually, only meeting supervisors twice a term and submitting research annually. I am used to working this way, but am afraid that it will make me feel a bit lonely (research-wise), and may not be as challenging as UCL. Does anyone have experiences with either department and can tell me something more about what they are like?