The Student Room Group

Law undergrad mature student discrimination

I am a mature student, mid twenties.

I own a small business, 6 employees.

I worked in a Law office for 2 years as a paralegal.

I applied to a few average universities in central London to study Law, that I will fund myself.

I have 3 A levels: ICT A*, ENGLISH A & MATH A.

Got rejected by all of them that are worth attending... "Not being in education for the past few years" and not have a "BUSINESS related qualification"...

I called the university that said I needed a business related qualification, as I thought that was a joke. I was told the follow:

"Sorry yes we prioritise students with business A levels"

I am terribly confused.
(edited 5 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Business is odd. Did you apply to a law and business course? Might be on their website that they require it.

Of course, many unis require recent formal education. There is nothing discriminatory about that. You should check the course website before applying.
Original post by Notoriety
Business is odd. Did you apply to a law and business course? Might be on their website that they require it.

Of course, many unis require recent formal education. There is nothing discriminatory about that. You should check the course website before applying.

I applied to Law LLB, there was no requirements for 4 out of the 5 I applied to.
Reply 3
Original post by JamesMartin65

I applied to a few average universities in central London to study Law, that I will fund myself.

Got rejected by all of them... "Not being in education for the past few years" and not have a "BUSINESS related qualification"...

I called the university that said I needed a business related qualification, as I thought that was a joke. I was told the follow:

I am terribly confused.

That sounds really bizarre. Which universities? Could you call them to clarify?