Ask an A Level History/Classical Civilisation Student!

Watch
EstelOfTheEyrie
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hello everyone! :wavey:

I'm an A level student who studied both History and Classical Civilisation if you have any questions about both/either subject then feel free to ask away!
CoffeeAndPolitics
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by EstelOfTheEyrie)
Hello everyone! :wavey:

I'm an A level student who studied both History and Classical Civilisation if you have any questions about both/either subject then feel free to ask away!
This is fantastic. Hope to see this thread gaining traction. Of course, I can help with History myself.
Victoria_D04
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Did you do classics as a GCSE too or just as an A-Level?
EstelOfTheEyrie
Rep:
?
(Original post by Victoria_D04)
Did you do classics as a GCSE too or just as an A-Level?
My high school didn't offer Classics as a GCSE, so I only did History
Victoria_D04
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by EstelOfTheEyrie)
My high school didn't offer Classics as a GCSE, so I only did History
What exam board did you do?
EstelOfTheEyrie
Rep:
?
(Original post by Victoria_D04)
What exam board did you do?
OCR for both GCSE and A level History, but AQA Classics
AmberStudies
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
How similar do you think it is to A-Level EngLit?
In terms of workload, teaching style, course etc

What was your favourite module from it?

How has it helped you in your uni applications? Do you see it as a 'soft' or 'hard' subject?

What have you gained from studying Class Civ? If you were to do A-Levels again, would you still do Class Civ?

Any tips for anyone who may be studying or considering studying Class Civ?
pHseven
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
In terms of essay writing and what is required for the exam, is the jump from GCSE to A-level a huge one? I've heard a lot about English Lit essays but not much about history essays.